How to raise self confident children

2 Jul

PARENTING 101.
Great morning to you. I just made a resolution, that I will share with you TEN things, most people don’t know about me.
Number 1, the first time a girl wrote ‘I love you’ note to me, in primary 5 then, guess what, I boosted into tears, and wanted to go report her to the headmaster, thanks to my class teacher who stopped me.
Hey, don’t laugh at your coach, I believe you had a funnier childhood days, so? Tarrrrrr. OK, on a more serious note.
Are you one of those parents who want their children to act smart, intelligently, with a great self-esteem? 4 things you need to do.
1. Your children are a reflection of who they FEEL you THINK they are, go back and read the line again. Do your kids FEEL you take them as smart, intelligent, hardworking, adorable? Do you always call them names? Block head, good for nothing, foolish, lazy, careless, dull? etc please STOP!
2. Treat them as who they ought to be. Stop treating and referring to them as kids, though they are. Honour THEM. As a mother, call your male child ‘my father’, ‘my husband’, ‘my king’. As a father, call your daughter ‘queen’, ‘her majesty’, ‘my heart’ etc
Its gives them that FEELING of acceptance and responsibility, even at that age.
3. Give them responsibilities to handle. Don’t make the mistake of trying to make their life easier, give them small task to execute. allow them make their mistakes and learn, yes, they need guidance, not protection. Prepare them for THEIR future.
4. They should once in a while catch you telling people how blessed, privileged and happy you’re to have them as your children. Always affirm them, apologize if you’re late from work or does anything out of order. You’re modelling them.
Gotta stop here for today. From the depth of my heart, I CELEBRATE YOU. Thank you for always being there.
Please RETWEET, let’s join hands to bless and empower others.
Still your friend,
Adeh Jones,
Parenting/Teen coach,
BB pin: 7B93D444,
Twitter: @therapistJONES.

3 Responses to “How to raise self confident children”

  1. Rebekah July 3, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

    Reblogged this on Naturally Happy Together and commented:
    I love reading Adeh Jones work. The following three points are what I interpreted from her post. Take a look…
    1. Concentrate on the positive side of your child
    2. Speak kindly to and about your children
    3. Give children responsibility, it helps helps them become a part of a whole.
    Injoy!

    • gemipus1987 July 3, 2014 at 2:10 pm #

      Thank you for reblogging this post. Are you on twitter? And I’ll love to have e-mail address.

      • Rebekah July 3, 2014 at 2:19 pm #

        I just joined the twitter family. Yesterday was the first day I began to actually tweet. I’m still trying to figure it out. I’m @bekabutterfly and @Austin_Hodgens and @audreytheturtle have been helping me

Leave a Reply

